WTF is Zen & how it can help you

On my first search for the meaning of zen, I found this nice a boring description. Zen is a Japanese school of Mahayana Buddhism emphasizing the value of meditation and intuition rather than ritual worship or study of scriptures. Ok, I guess I am done here, so goodbye.

No, of course, I am not going to leave it there, let us dive into zen. The further I searched into the meaning of zen and what it was, I found someone with a great way to put it. Describe what honey tastes of. Go on I shall wait. Did you come up with a description of it? I am going to take a wild leap and say your description was like mine. Honey taste like honey, the same goes for zen, you can’t really descripe what zen actually is, zen is zen and there is something beautiful in the simplisity of it all.

Since zen isn’t about scripture or worship, it isn’t bogged down by dogma, beleif or even religion. It is a practicle experience, it is about being here in the now and actually being aware of the life that is around you.

How can zen help us in our day to day life?

The use of meditation is a grand start, this is a good pillar to get your head in a better way. The use of meditation and good breathing techinques help with calming the mind, since now a days our minds go a mile a minute and most of us have no clue how to get our brains to shut the fuck up for even a few minutes.

Zen, I feel is a grand tool for chipping away at your ego and penetrating your true self, the more you practice the ways of meditation and mindfullness, which will help you live live without your ego being the main player,appriate the world around you and live a life that is full, even if you don’t seem to have much in the eyes of others.

I didn’t really touch on what mindfullness, let’s keep it short. Mindfullness is the act of being aware of your emotions, being able to step back from them and understand them. Instead of allowing your emotions, usually negitave ones run your life.

Ok, I shall admit, my break down of zen wasn’t the clearest in the world. But niether is zen, as I said zen is zen. Not much more you can say. You live zen, you don’t study it.

I shall leave you with a quote from Bruce Lee:

“Its like a finger pointing away to the moon. Dont concentrate on the finger or you will miss all that heavenly glory.”

I think that sums up how you should experience zen.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑