Are you doing what you love?

I feel this is a question everyone needs to ask them self and be able to accept the answer for good or for bad. Most people if you as them this they say start saying

  • On paper, I am doing well
  • I enjoy what I am doing
  • I enjoy my lifestyle or the money it provides

Each one of these answers and there is a hell of a lot more but I am not going to list them all. I haven’t got all day! Anyways back to the point, most people will answer these ways because they can’t admit they are not doing what they love. This is usually down to liking their lifestyle or being comfortable where they are. Which is totally fine. Nothing wrong with having a comfortable life on paper. But on paper isn’t life now is it, something can look fucking fantastic on paper and in reality is utter rubbish.

Ask yourself

  • Am I doing what I love today?
  • How much of my day is made up of doing what I love?
  • Am I doing what I love at work?
  • How can I go about doing what I love?
  • Can I make a living on doing what I love?

These questions will help you with deciding if your life is going in the direction you want it to go in. I find if you are doing what you love, then you are doing it from a place of happiness. You are not just doing something cause you “need” to do it.

That actually brings me nicely to my next point, say you want to do what you love for a living. Give the finger to your old life and career and say fuck it I am off. We the first thing I say is bravo to you for having the balls to just get up and leave. Secondly rememeber doing something that you love and turning into a life isn’t bloody easy, just because you love it doesn’t mean you don’t need to work hard. I find you need to work harder since it all rest on your shoulders.

But I am not ready to give up my job and my lifestyle. I get that, it’s not easy to let go of comfort. We don’t want to struggle through life. The struggle is something that will help build you and show how much dedication, if you want it, you will struggle for it. I got a bit off topic there, let’s get back on track. You don’t need throw everything to the wind to do what you love. Yes you may need to sacrife some parts of your life and maybe cut your hours down at work, so you have time to do what you love to do.

There is always solutions for these problems, the real problem is we would rather find excuses not to. Than actually put the work in.

Work hard and go after what you love.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

